Isidore Okpewho Award

Isidore Okpewho Award for best paper presented by a graduate student


  1. Recipients must be current members of ISOLA
  2. A limit of 6000 words (including the abstract) is set as a general guideline for the length of articles. The author-date-reference system is used. References should be indicated in the text: (Mphahlele 100) or Coetzee (10). Generally, referencing must follow the MLA system.
  3. Papers must be presented by the authors at the conference (proxy presentation disqualifies the entry)


The award carries a $250.00 prize to be given at the conference during the closing ceremony.

Apply for the Award

Papers should be submitted to the ISOLA vice president Professor Akintunde Akinyemi at one month before the start of the 2023 conference.

Selection Process

A committee selects the recipients. Please contact the ISOLA vice president Professor Akintunde Akinyemi for more information at

Previous recipients

2021: Charles K. Rono, Moi University, Eldoret, Kenya

2018: Matilda Eyituoyo Olive-Jack, Delta State University, Abraka, Nigeria